Please sign in to post.

21 days in Greece March 2015 Post 1

Flew from Seattle to Chicago to London and then Athens. Late afternoon Sunday 3/8.

Transfer from airport to Syntagma Square on the X95 bus Only 5 euro for both with senior discount. Note this will be the only senior discount you may get as at most sites you visit the senior discount is for EU members only and they ask to see your passport.
Stayed at the Hotel Niki in the Plake. Only about a block and ½ from where the bus stop is. Very nice property and the staff was great. I’m a professional Santa and I took a big stack of cards with me.” St. Nickolas as come to Greece on Vacation” I presented my card on registration everyplace and was Santa a hit. Hotel staff would bring their children to hotel in the morning so kids could meet Santa while he was having breakfast.

On the fast boat to Hydra on 3/13. Pretty lumpy ride over. A few passengers got seasick. It is a short trip thankfully.
Stayed at the Hotel Hydra. Fantastic! As with all places we visited we were one of the few tourists there. Many of the shops and eating places were still closed. What you had were the places that serve the community. We didn’t have a bad meal anywhere in Greece from the most fancy places in Athens right on down the list to the taverna at the end of the road Cape Tenaro.