Please sign in to post.

2017 Trip Report - Venice - Padua - Turin - Le Langhe in Piedmont - Cogne in Val D'Aosta

Way back in 2005, I finished my MBA, and a month later, married my wife. Being without a job at the time, we postponed our honeymoon until 2007, when we took our first trip together to Europe under the (minimal) tutelage of Rick Steves. I had the Italy book, but none of the city guides, and I skimmed the book due to attention issues. We fell in love with Italy hard, but in our quest to see as much that interests us, and as our interests evolved, we had not returned to Italy until 2017, the tenth anniversary of our honeymoon. Older, much wiser in travel, with a taste for more relaxed travel, we decided to return to Italy, at long last, but do different things. Instrumental in picking where to go, rather than Rick, we turned to his now co-author, Fred Plotkin.

Based on Fred's copy, I presented two options to my wife, both starting in Venice. We had hit Venice on our previous trip, after Rome, Florence, 5Terre, and Milan, and were rolly bag checked luggage travelers then, and did not really see anything in three days there, aside from a big square with long lines, a kooky bridge with a ton of tourists, and the very quiet Jewish ghetto, a complete accident. So, Venice was going to be the open.

Option 1 was going south from Venice to Bologna, and then out into the Emilian countryside. Option 2 was hitting the barolo region of Piemonte. Wife saw mountains in Piemonte, and the choice was made. E-R for a later trip. My original planning thread can be found here, though I simplified, avoided backtracking, and spent a lot more time around Alba.