Please sign in to post.

Driving in Tuscany

Hello fellow travelers. We recently returned from our vacation in Italy and spent the front end of it driving through Tuscany. I'm so glad we did it this way - so many people were so amazed we would try such a thing, but we had very few problems. Just to guage it, I am a veteran on NYC driving and currently deal with Connecticut traffic on a daily basis, but I'm not a maniac...

Our itinerary:
5/15-16 - JFK to FCO - pick up car at FCO and drive to Orvieto
5/16-18 - Orvieto
5/18 - Relais La Costa
5/19 - Drop off car in Florence airport
5/19-23 Florence
5/23-28 Venice - Depart for NYC
Picking up the car at FCO was a little bit of a challenge to find the Hertz desk, as the signs could be a bit more helpful. We rented a Ford Focus 6 speed manual diesel - plenty of room for the two of us and our bags. We brought our Garmin GPS with newly downloaded maps for Europe - this makes all the difference. No problems driving the Auto Strada as I had read up on Italian driving well in advance. There are several good sites on the web. Like the US, there are several "service areas" that have gas, food, and toilets along the way. The Auto Strada is a toll road, so it was helpful to know how that works too: This site was very helpful - http://www.italybeyondtheobvious.com/the-italian-autostrada-tips-for-foreigners.
Orvieto is a typical hill town - it has areas that are closed to traffic - ZTL - Red circle with solid white center. Violate these and you get a hefty fine up to a year later. So here's where we played chicken... We got up to the top of Orvieto and stopped just before the ZTL sign and then called the owner of our B&B (Francesca at Michelangelini). She met us where we stopped and parked our car in her garage. This B&B is recommended by RS and we found it to be a great value, clean, and perfectly locate. Francesca was super helpful as well. Orvieto is charming and pretty laid back. A full day of visiting was perfect.