Please sign in to post.

Travelling around the world in 2024

Hello, first of all please do forgive me as this is my first time doing a post or travelling! I have decided to travel around the world in 2024 and wanted to hear people’s opinions on what I should do and how to do it. I am a solo traveler thinking about heading to Thailand to start off, I was hoping people could help me with places to start off and prices ext?

Posted by
8645 posts

How old are you?

Where do you live?

What are your interests?

Get some good books on world travel and read them.

Start budgeting.

Posted by
6274 posts

While I commend you for wanting to travel around the world, if you don't feel capable of doing some preliminary research, you might want to start off your travels with a smaller trip. That's a lot of planning and only you know what you like, what your interests are and what your budget is.

Prices will vary a LOT depending on when you travel, where you travel and how you travel. For example, some people stay in very nice hotels that are $250 or more a night and eat out for every meal - they might budget $500 a day. Others stay in youth hostels (which are not limited to youths), which can be $50 a night or less, shop at carry outs for picnic lunches - they might budget $100 a day. You need to factor in lodging, food, transportation (car rentals, plane fare, train or bus travel, etc) and all the miscellaneous sundry items out there.

So the first thing you need to figure out is where you want to go. Around the world is a relative term and one person's world trip will be very different from another's. It will be hard to help you until you have figured that out. Once you have, come back with a ballpark destination, time frame and budget and it will be much easier to give you travel advice.

Posted by
23240 posts