Please sign in to post.

Train Travel in Italy

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie to the site. My husband and I are planning a trip to Italy in October. My question is this: How difficult is it to get a train ticket at the station to take us to our next destination? For example we will stay in Venice for 2-3 days but may not want to leave for our next destination (Florence) til that morning or late afternoon. Would we be able to be flexible? Also, we would like to check out other cities closeby to Venice, before heading to Florence. The same goes for our other 'home' cities. We will have hotels booked in our 'home' cities prior to our trip, so we will have specific days that we will be traveling to each. The reason I'm asking is that we may not have a laptop/netbook to take with us to buy tickets online and be unable to see the train schedule. Any advice is greatly appreciated! (Oh I do have R.S. Italy guidebook and understand the frequency/number of trains between cities)

Posted by
805 posts

In October, it shouldn't be any problem to get tickets either when you arrive in the cities or when you want to leave. Trains are rarely full outside of peak travel periods (October is not one of them) and so you need not worry about this.

Posted by
359 posts

you can generally buy as you go sometimes a certain time train can sell out but the trains from Venice to Florence run frequently
what many people do is buy their departure ticket upon arrival

Posted by
7 posts

Thanks for the quick replies! Buying a departure ticket on arrival is a good idea. I guess I'm a little nervous and anxious as this is our first trip outside of the US.

Posted by
8 posts

Wanda, I am also in your shoes. Going to be in Italy in April/May and I don't have a good idea how I am going to get from destination to destination. Concerned about how to get from The Cinque Terre to Paris.

Posted by
3941 posts