Please sign in to post.

Snacks on a Plane

Yes, I know. There's a question with this exact title in the archive from 11 (count 'em) years ago! Not very useful for now.

Many people mention taking snacks on the plane.
I've never done that before, except rarely taking something I purchased on the airside after going through security.

Not yet needing knee surgery or being able to take any standard arthritis anti-inflammatories, my orthopedist recently told me to use tart cherries as a substitute.

I discovered that dried Montmorency cherries work the best for me. I rather doubt these can be counted as OTC medicine.

Assuming that they would be considered a snack, has anyone had any issues with snacks of any kind going through TSA as a carry-on whether flying domestic or international?

I'd be starting out with a sealed, full bag. Later in the trip, the bag would be open, but for the short European flights, I can put them in the bag I'll be required to check.

Posted by
8473 posts

Lo, its not liquid so TSA shouldn't care. My wife routinely takes PBJ sandwiches and trail mix for the plane. I usually take an assortment of candy bars. I am wary, however, of anything high fiber, like dried fruit, for other reasons.

Posted by
4893 posts

TSA doesn't care about snacks as long as they're solids, not liquids or gels. The only thing that might be a concern is importation of fruit into whatever country you will be flying into. You might want to check to see if they have any restrictions.

Posted by
10217 posts

Lo, I take dried fruit on every European trip to help my system adjust to the time difference. Never had a problem bringing the fruit into Europe.

Posted by
3961 posts

We always bring protein type snacks on the plane. Especially like almonds, & protein bars. Just bring ziploc bags to store your leftovers.

Posted by
8293 posts

Snacks on a plane. Hmmm. I never did get to see that movie.

Posted by
2329 posts

This is from the TSA website: