Please sign in to post.

Rail Europe

I'm just kind of curious. What's with all the passionate contempt for Rail Europe? In answers that I've received to several questions about train travel in Europe, responders almost seem to spit out the words "Rail Europe." Admittedly, I'm a novice world traveler. But I find their site easy to navigate and helpful, and so far, I haven't minded paying for the services they provide. So why do folks seem to hate them so?

Posted by
1035 posts

Two problems: - As you mention they charge more
- Limited inventory of potential routes/times (to me this is the greater sin)

Posted by
16385 posts

The "contempt" is not universal. Read the posts in the boot section where I show that RE prices for tickets IN Italy ( and only Italy as far as I can tell) are within pennies of the price of a ticket bought from Trenitalia-and actually less is you use a credit card with foreign transaction fees for the Trenitalia purpose. Yes, there is still a handling charge if your purchase does not meet a minimum amount. And they do pass on the advance purchase mini fares. This doesn't mean they are OK for all purposes and I am not saying that. RailEurope should NOT be used for finding fares and schedules in general Use each country's own rail website for that, or Bahn.de or rail.ch for Europe- wide schedules. For ticket purchase one should always the national rail website first, or wait and buy tickets there. But IF you need advance tickets in Italy, and cannot get the purchase to go through on Trenitalia, the RE is a viable option. Note that people have been having better luck on Trenitalia lately.

Posted by
23319 posts