Please sign in to post.

Night Trains

I'm new to train travel and I plan to take a night train from Copenhagen to Amsterdam next month. Everything I've found lists multiple transfers, will I literally have to get off and transfer to a different train? Most transfers are in the middle of the night and Rick doesn't say anything about having to switch trains, but I can't find anything that goes straight through.

Posted by
32201 posts

Christie, If you choose a train with changes then the answer is YES, you will have to get off and change trains in the middle of the night. Using a date of 12 September, I found a direct departure (no changes) departing Copenhagen at 18:46, arriving Amsterdam Central at 10:57 (time 16H:11M, reservations compulsory). I'd suggest using a direct departure if at all possible. Happy travels!

Posted by
2 posts

I'll have to keep looking I guess. I looked around the 20th of September but only found one train with 1 connection, there were about 10 other trains with 4-8 connections! It seems like for every direct there are a couple dozen that transfer every couple hours :/

Posted by
12040 posts

Your best option would probably be just to fly from Copenhagen to Amsterdam. Night train or not, it's a very long ride.

Posted by
14507 posts

Hi, You could do this route by day with only 2 transfers, easily done. The shorter time span is transfering in Osnabrück, the long one is at Duisburg, depending on how you tailor that leg. The whole ride would be on the ICE and IC, transfering in Hamburg and in Duisburg for the final leg to Amsterdam. But if's a night train, I would take the 18:46 dep CNL direct. This is the route going straight through, no need to bother with transfering.

Posted by
2829 posts