Please sign in to post.

France Rail Pass

I'm an American student studying in Strasbourg, France for 4 months. I know of several trips within France that I will be taking in March and April (mostly to/from Paris and surrounding cities when family comes to visit). Eurail does not offer a rail pass for France specifically but Rail Europe does. I've heard questionable things about Rail Europe, such as another student who is on a similar program as me who got scammed through the Rail Europe website. I've already checked the prices of each individual ticket and it makes more sense financially to purchase a pass given the volume of my travel. Can anyone verify the authenticity and legitimacy of Rail Europe or provide another suggestion for a France rail pass/transportation?

Posted by
1175 posts

Two things -- go to www.tripadvisor.com, Strasbourg, Paris, or France forum, and ask your question there. The go to www.seat61.com for all you'll need to know about train tickets in France, or Europe for that matter, and why passes are usually not recommended nor is Rail Europe. If you are hoping to use high speed trains to go from say Strasbourg on trips to Paris or Nice, those tickets go on sale 90 days prior to travel and get more expensive as the travel date approaches. Regional train tickets, for trips closer to Strasbourg, can be bought on the day of travel, never sell out, and are not that expensive. You are well within the 90 day window for TGV tickets but you can go to www.capitainetrain.com and do some comparative pricing if you have not already done so.

Posted by
2916 posts

Rail Europe is authentic and legit; just not all that useful, especially with outfits like Captaintrain now around. I used RE once, and it was fine, but I doubt if I'll need to do so again. I just used Captaintrain to get tickets for an upcoming trip to France. Of course, if you want a pass, that's a different story.

Posted by
7209 posts