Please sign in to post.

Florence to Rome

June 18th 2010, staying in Florence. Flight home leaves on June 19th at 9:50 AM. Is there a train leaving early enough from Florence to Rome or do we need to stay in Rome that evening before??

Posted by
99 posts

I tried the bahn site and it would not let me look at June 2010. i am trying to book hotel rooms etc, knowing this is peak season. I suppose I will just play it safe and stay in Rome.

Thanks for your suggestions. You have been helpful in responding to a few of my posts in the past. I was a newbie traveler in 2008 and found you and others to be a fabulous wealth of information!

Posted by
15064 posts

The actual train schedule won't be available until around 3 months prior to your travel date.

In the mean time, you could look at schedules to get an idea.

Posted by
99 posts

Yes, my thoughts exactly. The current train schedule shows a 5:50 train that arrives at 8:30. Just know that will not work. I think we will just leave Florence on the 18th and travel to some of the Tuscany towns and make our way to Rome.

Any suggestions on this decision versus renting a car?? Maybe a tour that leaves Florence, goes to Siena, San Gimignano, etc and would let us choose to NOT return but travel on to Rome.

Guesss thats a whole new can of worms :)

Posted by
10344 posts

It's actually worse than the 0830 arrival, because I think you must have pulled up the schedule for Florence to the main Rome station, Rome Termini, I'm looking at the schedule and see the 0550 departure from Florence that arrives at Rome Termini station at 0824--that's downtown Rome, not the airport.

The earliest arrival at the airport is 0923. So, we've now confirmed that the train, the morning of, isn't going to work for you.

Posted by
10344 posts

You mentioned renting a car: what's your thinking about the details of that, how many days of driving, etc?

Posted by
99 posts