Please sign in to post.

Flight from Paris to Venice

Hello travellers. We are complete newbie's. First trip to Europe. Our family will be travelling from Paris to Venice on Sunday, July 13, 2014. We were initially thinking of taking the train but were convinced by experienced travellers to consider flying instead. SO... a couple questions for those with some experience in this. Which airports should be be looking at? Paris has the Charles de Gaulle & Orly. Venice has Marco Polo (the hotel asked us what airport we were flying into so I assume there are more than 1 airports there as well). Air France had cheap flights for 71 euros on the dates around Sunday but on Sunday the flights cost 822 euros. Any tips for flights? Our dates aren't real flexible as we have accomodations booked in Venice and those weren't easy to get! Thank you! Kim
BC, CANADA

Posted by
9110 posts

That's a typo or something on the 71 / 882 split, right? If the split is correct, I'd do anything I could, including a one-night stand in the airport, to get around that. Sleeping in airports is not evil, by the way. Anyway, here's how to attack it. Some major cities have an airport code that includes all the airports in the area. For Paris it's PAR instead of CDG, ORY, etc. Venice has two airports but no inclusive code. Marco Polo is VCE and Treviso is TSF. Use kayak.com and make two runs using PAR as the departure point both times and switching the two Venice designators. The results will show the actual departure airport. That'll cover the major carriers. You'll have to repeat the process on Skyscanner or Whichbudget to see what the cheapos have to offer, if anything.

Posted by
8700 posts

You can do "one stop shopping". Skyscanner.com shows both budget airlines and national carriers and includes all airports.

Posted by
4085 posts