Please sign in to post.

Fear of Flying

Hi everyone. I am a woman in my 30s, and I have been attempting to deal with a plane phobia I've had for a little over ten years. When I was a child I traveled quite a bit, and never had an issue, but after an upsetting flight I had when I was around 20 years old, I have been terrified of planes ever since. Shortly after that incident my parents took me to Switzerland, and I sobbed the night before out of fear of being in a plane that long (and on the plane itself too. My dad gave me valium to try to calm me on that flight but it didn't work too well.)

It's been many years since then. Since the Switzerland trip, the last time I went overseas was my Rick Steves trip to Paris in 2018. I still am utterly terrified of planes (to the point if I think about flying I get my heart rate up and the fear starts to set in) but being able to go on a trip and see Europe is worth it. I just reserved a tour to Italy in 2022 which I'm very excited about but the fear is already starting to set in. Has anyone conquered their own fear of flying or have any tips? I'm not sure how to make it go away. I've been flying at least once a year since my phobia started and it has only gotten marginally better, i.e. I don't cry anymore. So far what I try to do when I am scared on a flight is ask the passenger next to me if they mind having a get-to-know-you conversation to distract me and that seems to be semi-helpful. (And I of course know the you're safer in a plane than a car bit.) But really I would like to be able to rid myself of the pre-flight fears and my extreme fear of turbulence. Thoughts?

Posted by
103 posts