Please sign in to post.

Changing Trains

Forgive me if this question has been posted before, I'm new to all things train/Europe :)

If I have to change trains during a trip, is anywhere between 8-15 minutes enough time?

I'm currently looking at schedules on the DB Bahn website for a train from Vienna to Ljubljana.

At the point we need to change trains (in Villach), we have 6 minutes to get from platform 4 to 5b. I understand that trains in Europe run on-time and this doesn't seem like enough time to switch trains. Granted all I know are airports and having to transfer between flights, so train stations could be much easier...

Can anyone offer me advice on how much time it takes to change trains? What should first timers in the Europe train system be anticipating?

Thanks in advance :)

Posted by
23230 posts

I would do it because I have done it before but for someone like yourself it could be tight. You would have to be ready to jump off the train when it stopped and find the next platform which could be the next train over. If you have an open ticket and you miss it, you would just get the next train. But if you have reserved seats, then you might plan a little wider transfer time. Tim will probably have a better recommendation.

Posted by
349 posts

What is the downside if you dont make connection. If I had a sleeper car or hotel based on that connection not worth it but I have made many short connections but waited 45 min for a late one also.

Posted by
32198 posts

Lisa,

The time allowed to change trains is normally more than adequate; Europeans deal with this every day. The first suggestion I'd make is to pack light! You may have to reach the next track by going down stairs, through a tunnel and then up stairs to the next platform. If you're using a "wheelie bag", you'll probably be travelling a bit slower than (for example) someone with a Backpack.