Please sign in to post.

Airplane Food

I have been flying for many years but this is a first for me.

I flew back to the US yesterday. As I sometimes do, I monitor the incoming flight to see if there might be delays on my flight.

I noticed that a Delta flight from Detroit to Amsterdam was diverting. It had reached the point where it leaves Canadian airspace and starts to fly acrosss the pond. But this plane had turned around and was diverting to JFK in NYC. Quite a long way to divert.

No reason given.

Today I find out that spoiled food had been served and that a number of people had become very ill. Some even found black mold on trays.

https://www.cbsnews.com/amp/detroit/news/delta-flight-detroit-to-amsterdam-diverted-passengers-served-spoiled-food/

Passengers were offered free hotel rooms, food (?), and were rebooked on future flights.

Posted by
577 posts

Oh, now I wish I hadn’t left Facebook group related to Delta. They’re probably having nervous breakdowns. According to them, that’s gourmet and you can’t get better food.

I do not eat airline food. I’ve been traveling almost weekly for probably close to 40 years. I’m not impressed with three day old reheated TV dinners. I’ve never been airport anywhere where they didn’t have at least one better option. I eat before I get on the plane, sometimes i bring it on And this is true if I’m sitting in first class or business class too

Posted by
783 posts

Detroit media interviews with the passengers painted different pictures. My impression was that reports are varying wildly. Some questioned why they returned to JFK instead of Boston. I can think of a few reasons for that.

Our local media is abuzz with reader comments blaming "DEI" at DTW and the resulting flame wars are really discouraging. OMG.

We use this DTW-AMS flight quite often. Our last Delta flights however were not to or through Amsterdam.