Please sign in to post.

Nice to Cinque Terre

I will be traveling from Nice to Cinque Terre on Sept 2 with 4 friends. I will have a rail pass since I will be traveling Europe for 2 and a half months but my friends are coming to visit me for a week. I am trying to figure out how getting train tickets for them (and me if I need them) will work out. This was my route that I planned using bahn.de - Nice Ville to Ventimiglia, Ventimiglia to Genova Piazza Principe, Genova Piazza Principe to Genova Brignole, and Genova Brignole to Levanto. So that is 3 transfers... so a) will we need to buy tickets at each station or can we buy them all in 1 Italian station? b) do we need tickets at all or can we just pay on the train? c) do I need a supplement on any of these trains? d) are we taking the best route? I'm new at this - never traveled on trains in Europe and trying not to screw things up!! Thanks!!!

Posted by
8700 posts

You cannot buy tickets on the train. You certainly can buy tickets for all your legs within Italy when you get to Ventimiglia. In fact, you might be able to buy all your tickets in Nice (but I don't know for sure). The Ventimiglia-Genova leg is on an InterCity train and those trains require seat reservations. With your railpass you'll have to buy a reservation for that leg. If you choose different departure times, you can make only one connection in Ventimiglia and travel all the way on regional trains. If you do that, you won't have to buy any seat reservations.

Posted by
23 posts

Thanks for your help! So would you say it is best to buy the Ventimiglia - Genova reservation in Nice (if possible) or Ventimiglia or would it be better to try to buy the passes on trenitalia so that we can get on the train that we want? Also, how long does it take to get a ticket between transfers? Are there automated kiosks in English or do I have to go up to a counter? What is the liklihood the person at the counter will speak English?

Posted by
8700 posts