Please sign in to post.

Rome, Florence, Venice

Hello,

I am a current Student studying abroad in London. I am currently trying to come up with ideas for my spring break. I want to go to Italy and visit Rome, Florence, and Venice. I have 10 days to do it.

I need helpful hints from you guys regarding the CHEAPEST way to travel between these great cities? And any tips for CHEAP/QUALITY accommodation in these areas??

Thank you for your help,
Scott Salamone

Posted by
163 posts

The beehive in Rome is recommended by Rick and also gets great reviews on TripAdvisor. We're staying there in May and paying about 80E/night for a double room. They also have a dorm where you can get beds much cheaper. I've heard lots of good things about this place....but haven't been there myself (yet!).

If you're traveling alone (or with friends who don't mind hostels) I would check on Hostels.com - I'm certain you can find cheap, clean accomodations in all three of those cities - if you just spend a bit of time looking around online.

Posted by
6898 posts

You've posted the same question twice. You don't need to do that. See my response in To The Boot.

Posted by
3112 posts

Using regional trains instead of the high-speed trains is one way to reduce travel costs. They take longer and run less frequently, but are about 50% of the price of the fast trains.

Posted by
10 posts

Don't take high-speed deluxe trains; and avoid trains that are coming or going across borders - they charge more. Take local and region trains and travel 2nd class; it's comfortable, fairly clean and reasonably fast.
Don't buy train tickets on-line; avoid paying an additional service fee. Buy tix at the station - save money and aggravation. At some stations, roving attendants in green jackets are on hand to help you use the automated ticket purchase machines. And remember to stamp the ticket at the little yellow box near the platform before you board the train.