Please sign in to post.

Vienna - April, 2011

arriving Vienna from Budapest via train for a weekend. Any suggestions on lodging/don't miss sights and/or off the beaten path fun things to do/see. With my wife and mid-20s daughter (who is working in Hungary).

Posted by
5678 posts

I enjoyed the tour of the Opera House. Of course it's good to hear an opera too! ; ) Decades ago as a student I got standing room tickets to see Madam Butterfly. I also enjoyed the Haus Der Musik. It's participatory. There are so many beaten path sights that you don't want to miss. For me the Kunsthistorisches Museum was great. It's got the world class art. I also enjoyed the Hofburg Treasury. It's easy to get caught up in the details. I liked visiting Schoebrunn. It was an easy to get there on the U-Bahn. We stayed at the Hotel Schweizerhof, but it was July and the rates were low. It's very convenient. Vienna is a nice walking and people watching city. I would try to find a concert to go to if I were going in season as you are. Pam

Posted by
148 posts

Pam - thank you for your thoughtful insights. I especially like the idea of taking an opera or concert. I believe that Seji Osawa (Boston's former Orchestra conductor) hold sthe position at the opera house. Thanks, again - Don

Posted by
22 posts