Please sign in to post.

Travel in Austria

Rental car vs train. Want to do Salzburg, Hallstatt, Mauthausen,Melk and Vienna--all in about 8 days. Any ideas, pleas.

Posted by
23269 posts

Five cities in 8 days means all you are doing is traveling and checking in and out of hotels. If it is Tuesday, it must be Vienna. For that type of schedule you need a car.

Posted by
12 posts

Are you saying that is way too much? Drop what?

Posted by
3551 posts

They are all top spots but Vienna is IMO the best. I would allow at least 3 nights for Vienna, Salzburg 1 night, drive thru Hallstatt and stay for lunch/dinner stay in Salzburg. No opinion on Melk and Mauth...
Yes they are grouped together but 8 days is not much time to do all well.

Posted by
9363 posts

When I was a student in Salzburg years ago (ok, a lot of years ago), we did both Melk and Mauthausen as stops on the way to Vienna for our spring break trip. It's not necessary to allow a lot of time in either place (probably more in Mauthausen than in Melk, though). We traveled by bus, but I would suggest you'd do better with a car than by train. You could base in Vienna for a few days, hit Melk and Mauthausen on the way to Salzburg, then stay in Salzburg, doing Hallstatt as a day trip from there.

Posted by
12 posts

John Our daughter lived in Inzing (right outside Innsbruck) for two years and we traveled throughout Austria, Germany & Italy by car while we visited numerous times. The autobahn makes travel easy and rather speedy. No problems there EXCEPT, most all rental cars are a stick shift.
Enjoy your stay !

Posted by
152 posts