Please sign in to post.

provence

been reading all the info about provence. we are planning a trip end of october. we like hill towns that have activity. we will have a car and we have 4 days of actual sightseeing. if we use st. remy as a base, is it far from luberon, nimes, pont du gard or arles? we like the idea of luberon for its markets and antiques. just need to know if st remy is close enough to all these places or if you have 4 days, is there another hub recommended?

Posted by
3696 posts

I love St. Remy and have stayed there a number of times and think it makes a great base. I have been to the other locations but do not recall exactly how far each was, but I did all of them as day trips. Arles is close, and I think it took the longest to get to Luberon, but I am a photographer, so we often make lots of stops and side trips. The market in St. Remy is Wed. and Sat. and is great.

Posted by
3 posts

Thanks so much for your reply.curious, did you fly into nice and rent a car? If so, did you spend any time there? Merle

Posted by
1021 posts

Use viamichelin.com to get driving distances, recommended routes and estimated drive times.

Posted by
2023 posts

If you are interested in antiques Ile-sur-La Sorgue is not to be missed. It is not far from St Remy which we also thought a perfect place to stay-and market day there was great despite the Mistral winds.

Posted by
4132 posts

I can also vouch for St. Remy as a fine base from which to visit these sights with a car. It's not a "hub" but you don't need one, you have your own wheels and it is reasonably located. I would not fly into Nice for this unless of course (1) you get a great airfare or (2) you plan to see some of the Cote d'Azure. Otherwise fly into Marseilles, Lyon, or Charles deGaulle. Nice about 3 hours from Avignon by either car or rail.

Posted by
3696 posts