Please sign in to post.

Portugal

Hello

Our family of 2 adults and 2 kids( 9 years and 3 years ) are planning a trip to Portugal from Feb 13th to Feb 23rd. I am thinking of Feb 14-19 in Lisbon with a day trip to Sintra, traveling to Evora on Feb 20, spending the night there. On Thursday leaving for Coimbra and spending the night and Friday night there prior to leaving for LIsbon on Sat, Feb 22. Leaving for the US on Feb 23rd. Please let me know if this is manageable esp with a 3 year old. Also I am thinking of renting an apartment in Lisbon, in the areas of Baxia and Alfama.

Thanks and appreciate your help. It is my first time traveling with the 3 years old to Europe, so slightly nervous.

SC

Posted by
1506 posts

Can't comment on travel with a 3 year old but just want to raise a couple of points. We have visited Portugal several times and once did as you plan - that is spend some time in Lisbon then return for one night prior to leaving. We discovered it makes more sense to arrive in Lisbon airport and leave immediately for the other sites, then return to Lisbon for several days before we leave.

Your days don't seem to add up. You say you will spend Feb 20 in Evora and leave on Thursday and spending Thurs and Fri night in Coimbra. But Feb 20 is Thursday so that actually leaves only one night in Coimbra.

You don't say how you'll be travelling, if by car, train, or bus, but if you're driving you could follow this plan. Get car at Lisbon airport and drive directly to Coimbra, only about 2 hrs and spend 2 nights there (Feb 14-15). Drive to Evora, 3 hr drive, and spend one night (16), return car at Lisbon Airport, 2 hr drive, and spend 6 nights there (17-22), taxi to airport on 23rd. For only one day in Evora you might want to skip it on this trip as it involves a lot of driving and with a 3 year old it might not be worth the time.

Posted by
70 posts