Please sign in to post.

Paris in 3 Days

I will be in Paris April 6-10. This is my first time and I am traveling by myself. I am staying in Montmartre, Does anyone know how safe this area is? Also, I want to see the main tourist sites (Eiffel tower, Louvre, Notre Dame, Arc de triomphe) but I am not sure if I am being over ambitious since I do have limited time and I will be using public transportation. Lastly, what is the weather like in April? I read it is rainy but not sure how cold. Any information will help!

Posted by
14 posts

Part 1: To make the best use of your limited time, I suggest getting the current year edition of the Rick Steves Paris guidebook. (It will pay for itself in making value out of your time.) In the guidebook, start with the section that lists which items are closed on which days of the week, and which items are most crowded on which days of the week. Then take your goals, and sort them by priority into the available times, following those tips. Read up and get a better-defined idea of what you want to do at each place. You could spend all four days at the Louve, but I would not spend more than a half-day there, unless you have specific artworks in different zones of the museum that you absolutely have to see. So plan out which areas you really want. Also, plan to enter by subway, as Rick describes. There's no need to wait to enter if you follow his tip.
When you say Notre Dame, are you going to be satisfied with going in the main level, where people normally go for church? Or do you need to climb up to see the bell towers. I enjoyed the tower, but it can take a long time in line, so you don't want to wait in that line unless it is important to you.

Posted by
14 posts