Please sign in to post.

neuschwanstein castle renovation until end of 2012

I am traveling to Germany w/ a visit to Neuschwanstein castle this September 12, and I noticed on their website that 2 sides will be scaffolded until end of 2012 I am an avid photographer and was planning the day around taking some great shots. I am excited to see the interior, but the exterior was a main interest. If anyone has any updates on if they have seen the scaffolding recently and if we can get good shots despite the scaffolding - plus I am traveling with my little gal who is 5 to see the princess castle, dont want to disappoint her ---- is it worth it making this trip to neuschwanstein ?

Posted by
12040 posts

I looked at some pictures I snapped when I took some family members there back in October... the scaffolding was on the north and west faces of the castle. The view from Marienbrücke (the south face) was unobstructed. The main gate (east side) was also without scaffolding. Even with the scaffolding, the exterior details of the castle were still pretty visible.

Posted by
258 posts