Please sign in to post.

Germany

What are some out-of-the-way towns or cities to visit in Germany?

Posted by
5678 posts

Wow, Germany is a big place. Can you expand a bit on your interests? Is there a geography that interest you? Art? History? Culture? Wine? For me, I've always remembered our visit to Weimar and then Wartburg. Weimar for the people we met and Wartburg for the castle and its history. I loved the little town we stayed in when I studied in German, but I have to admit that the best thing was the Neckar river valley scenery and the apple cider type drink that was served. Oh, at the wurst salad, and the kartwuffell salad and the pomme frites machine. Hmmm, these are more student memories than place I think. ; ) Pam

Posted by
632 posts

Pam...I think you mean kartoffel salat...on the other hand, if there are wild kartwuffells in the area and they could probably make salad out of them.

Posted by
19234 posts

Do you really think you could handle them?

Of the major language groups in Europe, the Germans are the most multlingual, yet still I find that in the out-of-the-way towns, most people do not speak English. You're best off to stay in the mainline tourist areas where English is usually spoken.

Posted by
2297 posts

ahem, this is really a very broad question. what does "out-of-the-way" mean for you? No American tourists in sight (that would be 90% of Germany) or no tourists at all in sight? Or something that's not mentioned in RS guidebooks? That would be in particular Northern Germany and also large parts of Eastern Germany.

As Pam suggested, Eastern Germany doesn't get quite as much tourist traffic and there are some fantastic sites. Mecklenburger Lake District, the Baltic coastline with the Island of Ruegen ... those are beautiful landscapes. If you're more interested in culture and history Dresden, Leipzig, Weimar are good destinations.

Posted by
1523 posts