Please sign in to post.

German Rail Pass

Thanks Tim for your help on my last post.
New questions about the German Rail Passes:
I need to travel on 5 trips within Germany and to Salzburg Au. so that would tick off 5 days on my pass (if I get one for say 7 days)I understand?? that a German Rail Pass gives you unlimited access to any of their trains for a whole day of travel - is this correct? -

Also, as I'm spending 9 days in Bacharach every time I use the pass to get on a KD Ship can I use the ships numerous times a day flexibily like the trains?

Can I use the pass to go on one of the KD cruises to say the Moselle river or Kologne? Or is that something different.

I've been to the KD site and find their scheduling and info difficult. Can someone explain the German Rail Pass to me in a bit more detail? what about a Season Ticket from DB or the Bayern Ticket - I prefer a flexible pass in case I miss a train or get lost since this is my first time travelling.- nova

Posted by
12172 posts

Nova,

I'm not the best train expert on the site but I can answer some of your questions.

Each day you travel on your rail pass will eat up a day on the pass - UNLESS you purchase a seperate ticket for your travels that day. I only think a rail pass makes sense on days where you are traveling a good distance, otherwise use special tickets on regional (local) trains. Example, If you want to take the train from Bacharach to St. Goar to visit Rheinfels, don't use your pass. Get a Lander or Shoenes Wochende pass which is good for up to five people on regional (local) trains for hop on/off rides the entire day (I think it's currently 35 euros for the ticket).

If you are traveling on your pass, you can hop on/off the KD boats the same as the trains. It's still not worth it to use a pass just to use the boats. If you aren't going far, just pay the boat fare.

I'm not sure about the Mosel, I've never ridden the boat there but assume it's the same.