Please sign in to post.

Critique my itinerary

Hi everyone,

First time poster here. I am planning a trip to France and Germany and just wanted input in case anyone thought I might be missing something or if they had any advice on snags in my itinerary. This is my first time to Europe, so advice would be appreciated.

Paris for 3 days (overnight train to Munich)
Munich for 3 days (overnight train to Berlin)
Berlin for 3 days (overnight train to Amsterdam)
Amsterdam for 2 days (train to Paris to fly out)

As far as I know, my Eurail pass will give me access to the trains. However, I will need to reserve the trains a few days in advance of the trip if my understanding of the Eurail system is correct. I planned on going to the train station the day I arrived in the city and making the reservations.

Thanks

Posted by
1568 posts

Due to the cost of airfare, I would suggest you try to stay longer in Europe and see more areas. In order to cut down on cost while you are there try hostelling and buying your food from grocery stores or delis.

My daughter and I went for 8 weeks - 8 countries and spent an average of less than 100 Euros per day. This did NOT include airfare and Eurail Pass. We found that German, Austrian and Switzerland hostels were VERY clean.

Many hostels provide some type of breakfast.

You do your homework and you can see Europe for less than 100 Euros per day.

You miss so much of the scenery when taking the night trains.

Posted by
12040 posts

If this was a more extended trip, I would recommend against using night trains so frequently. Many (myself included) find it impossible to get an adequate nights sleep on the train. Three night trains in nine days is probably pushing close to the limit where you may start to wear down by the end of the trip.

Posted by
4132 posts

To save time and money, fly into Amsterdam and out of Berlin, traveling Amst - Par - Mun - Ber.

Posted by
193 posts