Please sign in to post.

Amsterdam Hotels

Im a college student who will be studying abroad in the summer and I want to spend at least 4 or 5 nights in Amsterdam but I'm on a tight budget. I prefer to be in the city center and only want to pay $70-110 a night... any suggestions? NO Hostels

Posted by
5672 posts

You could try bidding on a room on priceline.com using the "name your own price" option. Look for tips on bidding on the website biddingfortravel.com or betterbidding.com. On both, people list their winning bids so you can get some ideas of whether you can find a room in that price range.

Posted by
9109 posts

For hotels Amsterdam is one of the most expensive cities in the world; your price range is very optimistic:) Laura's advice about priceline is good, in addition checkout the hotels near the RAI convention center. Between shows rates are deeply discounted, but the location is just outside the city center so you will have to rely on trams, or subway to get to the city center.

Posted by
5672 posts

One more thing. I know you said no hostels, but you did not say why you object to hostels. I just want to make sure that you know that some hostels do have private rooms and some even have en suite bathrooms. If your objection is only because you don't want to stay in a hostel dorm, you still might check out hostel websites to see if they have any suitable private rooms.

Posted by
818 posts

Hotel Brouwer has single rooms and would be perfect. I love that place. Charming, great location, good breakfast. Check and see what their singles go for.

Posted by
2829 posts

Try advance reservations on CitizenM or Qbuzz, both near the Amsterdam Zuid area with cheaper prices over summer when business is slow. But reserve (and prepay) in advance to get good deals. They require subway or tram rides to get to the area where most sights are.

Posted by
8 posts