Please sign in to post.

Jet Lag

OK. . . . we are going west to east . . . DFW to Paris . . . about a 10 hr. flight. . . . 5:30 p.m. to 9:30 a.m. hat's best way to beat jet lag? Has anyone taken Lunesta, ya' know, the butterfly. I've used it at home with no hangover but they say you need a full 7-8 hrs. sleep. Has anyone used Melatonin to combat the lag?

Hurry, am leaving soon. Thanks

Posted by
324 posts

I have no experience with melatonin. Standard anti-jetlag measures apply -- lots of water or juice during the flight, sleep as much as possible during the flight, and don't take a nap upon arrival.
When I was younger I used to avail myself of complementary drinks during the first part of the flight, sleep it off during the later half, and wake up more or less in sync. I wouldn't recommend it now, however.
You might also want to gradually alter your schedule via light stimulation during the week prior to flight.
Have a good trip.

Posted by
32173 posts

I've tried a product called 'No Jet Lag' but haven't really decided yet whether it works or not? It's apparently an all natural, herbal product.

On my flight last week from the west coast of Canada to England, I seemed to be in reasonably good condition when I arrived, but ran out of energy fairly quickly. The earlier suggestion to stay active for the first day and then keep a normal sleeping schedule is probably good advice, but it still takes me several days to get over the flight.

Good luck!

Posted by
17 posts

Use it all the time (road warrior!) and it works like a champ. Take it with lots of water, approx 1-2 hours before you want to be sleeping and I find that I start to check out just about on time. Not perfect, but less hangover than that double scotch!

Posted by
9099 posts