Please sign in to post.

transportation in Germany

Hello! I am going on a trip around Germany, as well as to Prague and Amsterdam this July. I have a couple questions...
1) We are renting a car for two days to drive up the Romantic Road. The rest of our transport will be via train. Would you recommend booking all train tickets and the rental car ahead of time online?

2) If so, what's the best way to do it? I am looking at raileurope.com for tickets, but there is also the Deutsche Bahn site...is there any difference between buying a ticket from one or the other? I'm assuming that because we are only going to three countries, it wouldn't be worth it to buy one of those unlimited passes, but I could be wrong!
As you can see, this is my first time planning a trip to Europe, so any help you could give would be very appreciated!

Posted by
12040 posts

"1) We are renting a car for two days to drive up the Romantic Road."

My advice here... realize that other than the southern terminus of the Romantic Road (with the view of Neuschwanstein against the Alps), the scenery on this country road is no better than a dozen or so other roads that run south to the Alps. Drive it if there is something particular you want to see along the way. Otherwise you can drive from point-to-point along the autobahn much more quickly with little sacrifice in scenery (the autobahn was originally designed to maximize the enjoyment of scenery for drivers). Especially in July and August, the road will be clogged with thousands of other tourists who had the exact same idea. Now, the Castle and Alpine Roads, that's a different story...