Please sign in to post.

shipping luggage?

I'm doing a study abroad course in Salzburg this summer. Following completion of the course, I'm going to head to France by train. Is there some way to ship my big suitcase home to the states so I can just travel with a backpack? I'm a rookie so I have no idea! Thanks

Posted by
23547 posts

It will be expensive. Just go to any of the shipping sites -- UPS, FedEx, etc. and get a rate quote. It might be cheaper to ship your suitcase to your departure location and you carry it home.

Posted by
3 posts

Thanks! Didn't think of shipping it to my destination :)

Posted by
151 posts

Last year, I was looking to do the same thing for my son. There are a few companies that will ship the suitcase, no extra packaging required. I looked through my notes from last year, and I could not find the names of the companies. They came right to your door to pick up the suitcase and that is all you had to do or at best, you may have had to take it to the airport if your residence was far which also escalated the price of the shipping. The prices were competitive with major carriers, such as FedEx. As it turned out, we did not use either due to cost.

Posted by
242 posts

I would talk to your study abroad program - especially the people who are taking care of your housing. I have been looking into sending our stuff home and have found a few cargo companies that will send the items home for you. You might also check with the airlines.

Posted by
182 posts

Had a similar situation with my daughter a few years ago. I really like Frank's idea and wish I had thought of it back then. We ended up shipping it home anyway, and for a fortune, but thought it was worth it in the long run. Didn't want to have her dragging alot of extra non-needed stuff with her. If you do decide to ship, all the regular shippers are available (we used Fed-Ex as it was convenient for her).

Posted by
23547 posts