Please sign in to post.

Rick Steves Ireland Tour

I am new to this and am thinking about doing my first Rick Steves Tour in Ireland in 2008. I am a single female going solo, is this safe? I am kind of nervous about it but am choosing Ireland because I can read the language (and because it looks spectacular!). It also looks like a lot of time on the bus each day--is this so, and if so, is it worth it? Thanks for any advice!

Posted by
28 posts

Solo Travel is the best you meet a lot of new friend like myself.

Posted by
9363 posts

If you're with a tour you're not solo. You'll meet a group of new friends. I haven't done a bus tour in Ireland, but it allows you to see a lot of places without worrying about doing the driving (on the wrong side of the road) yourself. I have been there several times -- good choice!

Posted by
484 posts

Paula, My daughter,mid-30's, went on a Rick Steve's tour solo and had a terrific time. She met two other people and they have become good friends and will be taking their third tour together this Oct. to Ireland. She says you should not hesitate or worry about going solo. Although a lot of people would disagree with me the idea of a tour is a good one if you are alone. Driving in Ireland can be a little tense at the best of times and if you have to constantly watch the road you miss a great deal of spectacular scenery.
As someone mentioned earlier you will not be alone,there will be almost 30 other people with you,so go for it.

Posted by
32202 posts

Paula, BOOK YOUR TOUR! Don't worry in the least about travelling with a tour group, especially a Rick Steves group as you'll be well looked after.

I've booked a RS Ireland tour this fall, so will be able to provide you with some more knowledgeable comments later in the year.