Please sign in to post.

Oyster vs. Travelcard??

Hello all! I'm trying to decipher the London transport system and I think one needs a 4 year degree to understand it. Can anyone out there assist me? We are family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids ages 15 and 9) Going to be in London for 8 full days. Would like to use the bus and tube for transport mainly in Zone 1 or 2. Would like to be able to use transport all day and into evening hours as well. Thank you in advance!!

Posted by
3428 posts

You can actualy load a travel card onto an Oyster card. But I think you are referring to the paper travel cards that cna be purchased at National Rail Stations. The one advantage to those is the 2-for-1 admission deals they make you eligible for. Check out the 2-for-1 deals, and if you would make use of any of those, then buy the paper travel cards (again- be CERTAIN you get them at a National Rail office- NOT a tube station office).

Posted by
117 posts

Jane Ann, I have a 4-year degree and it has not helped me at all. ; ) I'm in a similar boat with you. My kids will be 16 & 18 and we will be in London for a week. Sorry to horn in on your thread but I do have a question that fits in here. We are planning on purchasing a 7day TC (with the logo for the 2-for-1 deal). I understand that it is issued onto an Oyster Card though. Can we use that for the deal then? Am I confusing things?? Oy.

Posted by
28 posts

Kristin
Thank you! Very pertinent questions! I think that perhaps the Travelcard will also be our best bet. I assume my 9 year old will not need a card as long as he accompanies his ticketed parent. I have read the TC gets loaded onto the Oyster Card (which seems very confusing) I also have read we need vouchers for the 2 for 1 deals. The London 2 for 1 website says you can print out vouchers but I am unsure if the vouchers can be printed here at home in the US before we arrive. Oy is right!

Posted by
28 posts