Please sign in to post.

Customs

I will be flying into Heathrow on Oct. 18, arriving @ 7 am on a Wed. Would appreciate some info on about how long it takes to go through customs. Thanks!

Posted by
9100 posts

It all depends on how many flights are arriving at the same time and how many immigration officers are on duty to handle it. In past visits it's taken me as long as 90 minutes to as little as a five minute wait time.

Posted by
8293 posts

Michael is right. By the way, "Customs" is just a walk through a doorway marked "Nothing to Declare". It is Passport Control (Immigration) that takes the time.

Posted by
5326 posts

The terminal is another factor in the mix.

Posted by
38 posts

Thanks for your answers. Sorry, I'm pretty new at this. So is then what I need to do is to go through Immigration, rather than "going through customs"?

Posted by
5326 posts

You will go through immigration, then customs. The latter may well be just a walk through the nothing to declare door (presuming you do have nothing to declare of course), but there is the possibility you could be stopped here.

Posted by
38 posts

I'm just a tourist, and am not bringing a lot of money or anything else. What are the kinds of things one would declare?

Posted by
12040 posts