Please sign in to post.

First trip to Europe!

I'm in the planning stages of my first trip Europe and am so excited and overwhelmed! The plan is to go England, Wales andpossibly Paris the first 2 weeks of april. this is the trip I've been dreaming of for over 20 years and I'm worried about being realistic on how much I can do in that time period. I know I can't possibly fit every thing in but here is my list of top places to see.. London Bath Stonehenge
Windsor I would like to go to Wales specifically to visit the village my great grandpa came from. Any help or suggestions would be mucch appreciated!

Posted by
3428 posts

If you base yourself in London you can easily visit Bath (and from there Stonehenge), and Windsor as day trips by train. Depending on where in Wales you want to visit, you could do a day trip or stay a few days- possibly traveling at lease part of the way by train. You can get to Paris via the Eurostar- try to buy those tickets well in advance - as well as the ones for Bath. the discount tickets for Bath usually go on sale about 12 weeks prior to travel dates. You can esimate the cost by putting in a date about 12 weeks out on UK rail sites (this is one we have used http://www.rail.co.uk/ ) Windsor makes a good day or 1/2 day trip- no need to purchase the tickets in advance. We tended to wisit Windsor on days that we had theatre tickets for the evening. If you tell us your interests, we can make more suggesstions for you. With 2 weeks, you could spend 7-10 days in London and doing day trips and the trip to Wales and the rest of the time in Paris (or do Paris as a day or 2 day trip) just depends on your priorities.

Posted by
1014 posts