Please sign in to post.

Exchange Rate

I've been checking the USD and GBP exchange rate for a few months now and it's been hovering around 1.6 however, I went to my local bank yesterday and was told that the rate of 1.6 is for large amounts of money (i.e. for exchanging 1,000,000.00 USD). Never heard of that before in my life. Anyway, my bank is telling me the exchange rate for my $1000.00 USD is 1.76. What's up with that and would I be better of to get my USD exhanged in the U.K? Thanks in advance for the help.

Posted by
23574 posts

You need to understand the system. And part of that system is making a profit. Nothing is free. Just a question of now much you pay. Also, think of money as a commodity just like pork bellies or oil. The number you see, 1.6, is commonly called the interbank rate, could be called the wholesale rate but it is the absolutely min rate and, it is true, only available to very large currency exchanges. AND fortunately it is very close to the rate that credit cards and debit cards start at. After that, everyone - banks, credit.debit card issuers, etc. - add their margin, profit, etc. and you get the retail rate. And your bank is selling those pounds to you at about a 10%, A little high but not excessive. Shopping around you might find mark ups as low as 5%. But hard to get below that in the US. Generally using a debit card at an ATM is the most convenient and cheapest way to obtain currency. Some debit cards may charge upwards to 3% which is not a bad deal. Some charge nothing so you get your currency at nearly the interbank rate the is always a small network (Plus,Cirrus) fee of less than 1% buried in that rate. But that is the best you are going to do. Get a 100 pounds from your bank to get pocket change and after that use the ATMs.

Posted by
17254 posts

I withdrew pounds at an ATM in the UK last Monday at a rate of 1.64 (just checked my bank statement). My credit union added an FTF of 0.8%.

Posted by
4535 posts