Please sign in to post.

Getting Around London

Okay...I've read a number of posts about getting from Heathrow into London and I've been to the Oyster/Travelcard website and I'm completely confused! We will be staying in Notting Hill in October for 5 days. What is the best, most economical choice for sightseeing around London and getting back home in the evening for two adults?

Posted by
3580 posts

You will be fine just buying two Oysters then loading 10-15 pounds on them. Go to a ticket window to get set up. There is a daily max charge depending on times of use and bunches of other info that is explained on leaflets available at the Tube stations. If your Oyster runs low on money, it is easy to top-it-up........I've been using my Oyster for several years now on short visits to London and it has been very easy, economical, etc. Don't overthink this one. It can make you crazy......If you plan to use public transit a lot, it might be cheaper to spring for the one-week option; then you probably won't need to top-up at all.

Posted by
6898 posts

Swan is correct. I would only add that the Oyster card covers zones 1 and 2 in greater London. Most sites that you would like to see there are in these zones. Heathrow is not in these zones. Since we were planning to be in London for 6 days, we purchased the one-week card at the Heathrow tube station. They added on an extra charge for the ride from Heatrow into zones 1 and 2. Overall, most handy. It worked on all tubes and buses in the two zones. I don't think the Oyster card works on the trains.

Posted by
970 posts