Please sign in to post.

Manchester

Hello! This is my first time posting. I'm planning on staying in Manchester in mid May for three nights. Does anyone have any recommendations? I'd really appreciate it. Safe area, all that jazz.
Thanks so much!

Posted by
1078 posts

Lucky you! You have "The Curry mile" for Indian food, the Top of the Deansgate Hilton for more, and the mall downtown. When you check-in to the hotel they can direct you to what's happening, or speak to your colleagues. One rule is "no trainers and no denim" in the clubs. I stay center city and it is perfectly safe. South side near the brewery is a little dicey.

Posted by
3 posts

Oooh thanks Jerry! Especially for the "no trainers and no denim." In LA it's hipster central so it's skinny jeans and converse. So thank you! Any advice on hotels, too? And I will remember to stay away from the south side near the brewery. Is there a specific brewery or is it called that? (Still doing my research!) ;)

Thanks!

Posted by
1078 posts

Don't know what your budget is, but I would check the Hilton Deansgate, The Marriott's and or the Accor hotels in the center of town. Have stayed at the first two for 99 Pounds and the Accors at anywhere from 65 to 120. You will see the brewery when you come in from the airport. Have a ball!

Posted by
20 posts

If you have to go to Manchester, stay near the city centre and you don't want to be near the university over the weekend as the bars and clubs get really busy and lots of drunks

Posted by
495 posts

I'd disagree with Liane about the University area, although it's just as busy I'd say there is much less chance of trouble there than the city centre. That being said the centre's fine too - as safe as any other city centre. There are some ropey areas with a 15 min walk of the centre (like any big city) but you'll not wander into these by mistake.