Please sign in to post.

VAT refund

Could someone please tell me if it's worth it to get the refund for the VAT? It sounds a bit complicated but maybe its just because I have no experience with how it works???
Thanks, Suz

Posted by
23261 posts

It is complicated and really only is worthwhile with big ticket items. But we have never been successful because the paper work is always lacking something.

Posted by
9363 posts

My only experience with the VAT refund is on my trips to Ireland, but I've always gotten it back. You just fill out the forms and have them stamped at the airport and drop them off. A short time later, the refund appears on your credit card.

Posted by
668 posts

I agree with Nancy. It is not really complicated, but you must get a VAT receipt when you purchse the item, your till receipt is not sufficient. You also need your passport number.

We got well over $100 back last time, some from Ireland and some from the UK.

Posted by
5513 posts

I've gotten a VAT refund several times and have never had an issue. It has always been when I've purchased a larger item through a shop that participates in the Global Refund program. They will seal the goods on purchase and give you a form. You are not permitted to use the goods while in Europe. You take the goods, the form, and your airline ticket or boarding pass to their counter in the airport. Sometimes, they will ask to see that you have not broken the seal on the goods. They give you the refund at the airport. This only works if you are flying out of an airport that offers this service and if you purchase something at a shop that participates in the scheme. The website globalrefund.com shows this information.