Please sign in to post.

Ireland in 7 days...

Hi,
I'm planning a trip to Ireland and only have 7 days. I'm looking for a sample itinerary so that we can make the most of those days...

Any suggestions?? :)

Thanks,
Hillary

Posted by
959 posts

Hillary, I'm no expert, we're going there for the first time in September, but you asked for a sample, so... Our itinerary for the Ireland leg of our trip is: 3 nights in Dublin, and then we're heading to Galway for 3 nights. We'll use Galway as a base to see the Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands, Connemara, etc. Most on this message board will probably tell you to go to Dingle Peninsula. I've heard wonderful things about it. But after Galway, we're heading to Northern Ireland which is why I opted for a city further north than Dingle. Plus, no one in our group will drive in Ireland, and getting to Dingle is supposed to be easier by car rather than public transport.
Here's what Rick Steve's book says:
3 days: Dublin
5 days: Dublin, Dingle Peninsula
7 days: Galway, a day in Belfast
(I hope this doesn't violate copyright law!!!)
You'll get lots of useful info from this site... Good luck with your trip!

Posted by
4 posts

Thank you so much for taking the time to write back. Have a great and safe trip!

PS..don't blame them for not wanting to drive..driving on the left would make me nuts!

Posted by
668 posts

We were in Ireland last September. Had a great time, but we had three and a half weeks. Dingle has great scenery. Kilsale and Galway are both nice towns - Galway much bigger. Almost anywher on teh west coast has fantastic sea scenery. We spent our last week touring up the west coast, Ring of Kerry, Dingle, Ballybunion, Cliffs of Mohar, The Burren Galway, Donegal and across the north to Londonderry and left from Larne after seeing Belfast.

Posted by
6 posts

Hi Hillary,
I asked a similar question the other day and used the advice given to make my decision and I'll share it with you.