Please sign in to post.

cheap airfare?

I have an odd question about online airline fare.
I'm planning a trip for roughly a year from now and up until recently every airline I tried (Aer Lingus, British Air, American, United, etc) were charging upwards of $900 for a round trip from O'Hare to Dublin. I began looking again and the fare for all but Aer Lingus has dropped to around 6 or 7 hundred. Same kind of non-stop flights for sometime between March and May...am I crazy or are rates
going down despite the increase in prices for everything else?
One other question on airline taxes, there could be two very similar flights by different airlines charging hugely different taxes, I mean upwards of $100 or more. I'm not a novice to travel, but I thought the taxes all pretty much ran the same...again, am I crazy?

Posted by
9363 posts

Make sure when you are comparing that you are using the exact dates to compare. I know, particularly in the case of Aer Lingus, that there is a big difference between fares in March and fares in May. Even if you are not sure of your dates yet, use the same dates (or sets of dates) each time. That's the only way to get a good comparison.

In the past, as it got toward fall Aer Lingus would start to offer lower fares for winter and spring travel. There's no telling if they will do that again this year, but it's too early to see those fares now.

Part of the difference that you might be seeing between airlines now might be attributable to fuel surcharges that some airlines have added.

Posted by
23297 posts