Please sign in to post.

American Teacher wanting to teach in Glasgow, Scotland.

Hi,

I'm not quite sure where to begin my search. Any direction, suggestions, comments...would be greatly appreciated. If there are any sites that one could recommend that states schools that honor VISA's.. that would be great! My boyfriend currently works as a Civil Engineer in Glasgow. I would like to relocate to Glasgow for a year and work while I'm there. I have an Illinois Teaching License and in May this year I will have two years experience in the field. I have taught two years in Special Education. I have a degree in Special Education K-12 and Elementary Education K-9. I would like to become a teacher in Glasgow or a Teaching Assistant. I also would not be opposed to working in a possible pre-school or daycare.

Thank you,
Katie

Posted by
8889 posts

You would need need to find a job, and then get a work permit in that order.
Your qualifications may or may not be recognised in the UK. "Illinois Teaching License", "Special Education K-12" and "Elementary Education K-9" are meaningless terms in the UK, what is K-12 and K-9?
You then need to find an employer who wants you, and can state that he cannot find a suitable employee who is an EU citizen. Then the employer has to apply for the work permit for you.

I suggest you ask your boyfriend to do some research locally about potential employers. it would be easier for him than for you to do this remotely.

Of course you could just come to visit your boyfriend as a tourist, but if airport immigration thinks you are coming to stay permanently (no return flight), or to look for a job they could refuse you entry at the airport and send you back on the next flight.

Sorry if I sound negative, I am just trying to be realistic.

Posted by
5326 posts