Please sign in to post.

3 Days in London

Hello!
I am currently studying abroad in southern Spain, I will be traveling to London for a long weekend trip in May. Any advice on what to do/ ways to save a penny in this pricy city would be greatly appreciated!!

Thank you!
Ashley

Posted by
43 posts

First, if you stay at Cherry Court Hotel on Hugh Street, it's £55 per double, ensuite room per night. And it's just a block or so from Victoria Station. At Cherry Court there are brochures that have a 20% off coupon on many sites in London. THEN, on the www.walks.com website there is a 20% off coupon for whatever you purchase at Casa di Caffe. Also, at Cherry Court they give you a fruit basket consisting of two tangerines, two bananas, two OJ packs, two granola bars, and two cookies. Also have coffee and tea making facilities in room. That works for breakfast. Eat your biggest meal at noon, for it will be cheaper then. Cafe in the Crypt at St. Martins or The Place Below at Mary le Bow Church or The Refectory at Southwark Cathedral are all good prices for lunch. Then for supper, stop by the local Sainsbury for hard rolls, a pack of ham and a pack of cheddar slices - and Cadbury chocolate.

We just got back from London for a week with two teenagers. more later.

Posted by
43 posts

Average cost of food per day per person was 28 USD. Not bad.

Must see Westminster Abbey, St. Paul's Cathedral, Tower of London. Picnic in St. James's Park. The Big Bus Tour gives you an overview of the city which is helpful.

Have fun!

Posted by
158 posts

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the Parliment Tour. A pleasant surprise ....since we didn't really expect it to be so interesting and informative. Of course the Tower of London and the British museum are well worth your while. Do take a big bus tour to "see the sights"!

Posted by
1717 posts