Please sign in to post.

Poland

Will have 6 extra days after exploring Prague to either visit the countryside of Czech Republic or venture on to Poland....any suggestions?

Posted by
9110 posts

Poland - - and concentrate on Krakow rather than Warsaw.

Posted by
3696 posts

Thanks Ed I was leaning that way... would you drive or train? I am a photographer so typically like to drive so I can explore and stop whenever I want, but haven't checked into rental car going from Prague into Poland.

Posted by
9110 posts

I drive everywhere. I'm a bit of a nut about going off on tangents so public transportation just doesn't work out for me. I've driven in both the Czech Republic and Poland, but always with cars rented in Germany so I'm an absolute dud on the second part of your question. Racking my brain, I think there was a slight additional fee on one trip, but the guy I was traveling with took care of the car rental - - however, I think it was due to driving in the CR and not Poland. It was something about cutting through the CR or circling up through Dresden and Wroclaw. Anyway, a batch of companies rent in both countries, so it must be workable.

Posted by
4637 posts

In 6 days you've got time to stop in Olomouc (on your way to Krakow) and give it one day. In some way it is like little Prague without crowds. Then you will still have time to see Krakow, Auschwitz, salt mine in Wieliczka and Zakopane and High Tatra mountains. If you are a hiker and will be there in summer or fall high country trails will be free of snow. The mountains are very beautiful, like condensed Alps. Train will be much cheaper than car especially if you plan to rent in Prague and return in Krakow.

Posted by
542 posts