Please sign in to post.

I'm a student and I have 1500 euro and 25 days where do I go in europe?

I'm a student and I like to travel with my brother to Europe where should I go and how should I travel starting from Greece ? I like to go to Check Republic and Spain, where do I start and how is the best way to go in the month of June?

Posted by
10344 posts

Budget questions are difficult, there's not a lot of data available on this Forum about the cost for students or other rock-bottom budget travelers. The best general data I've seen is that in Rick Steves' book Europe Through the Back Door 2009. Let's compare your budget to his. You've stated you ahve €1500 available--note that it makes a big difference whether you really meant €1500 or $1500.Rick's budget data is in dollars, so let's convert your €1500 to its equivalent in dollars to match Rick's budget. At today's exchanger ate (interbank rate + 2%), €1500 x 1.38 = $2070 in dollars. In Rick's opinion, in 2009 a rock bottom budget, for what he calls "student and rock-bottom budget travelers, is over $100+/person/day and that does not include airfare to/from Europe. His budget number is $3200/person for 30 days, this is $107/person/day and (important point) it does not include airfare to and from Europe. You say 25 days; 25 days x $107/day = $2,675. You have $2,000 available, thus you'll run out of money on your 19th day. Based on the above data, you need about $700 more, plus already have your airfare paid for, to do 25 days. If your airfare is already paid for and you have $2,000, you could do about 18days before your money runs out. There are details in Rick's book on the assumptions that his budget numbers are based on.Rick has said: "I'm cautious about sending people to Europe with too much confidence and not enough money."

Posted by
166 posts

Hi Mary,

Congratulations on your trip to Europe, very exciting! Given your budget, here are some ideas I'm going to put out there: