Please sign in to post.

Eastern Europe

I am currently studying abroad in Cadiz, Spain. Before I go home to the states this summer I am planning on traveling around Eastern Europe for a few weeks- any recommendations on where to go/ how to get there/ where to stay/ any advice would be greatly appreciated!
Happy Travels!

Posted by
1556 posts

Yours is a pretty open question. You don't list what are your desires, likes, wants. Do you want big cities or nature. Eastern Europe is very large - you need to do some homework to narrow down what you want. Are you looking to do a 2 week trip or an 8 week trip. Unless you do this legwork the responses you get will be all over the map and not of much use to you.

Posted by
11 posts

I travelled to Poland last August and it was a blast. Warsaw is the most cosmopolitan and the whole country pretty much goes through Warsaw one way or another. From Spain you could catch a continetal flight to Warsaw. It would probably be the cheapest. Most younger people in Warsaw will speak English as of course people working in the travel and tourism industry.
Sites to see: Palace of Arts and Sciences. It's the gothic looking building that dominates the skyline. It's cool to take a pic in that area. Old Town- very picturesque and post card like. Definitely a romantic atmosphere in the evening. The "New" town. Royal Route.The Route is a few kilometres but worth it as it's a very beautiful street with old style buildings and statues. The Royal Castle Square-also a very beautiful place to take pics.You can tour the castle. Nowy Swiat (new world)-beautiful street where people go shopping.Lazienki park is a must see too and Palace Wilanow.U can easily google this and Warsaw accomodation

Posted by
2788 posts

Order Rick Steves book on Eastern Europe, the 2008 edition, from his travel store elsewhere on this web site. It has all the information you will need. If you want a second book, Lonely Planet also has a good book on Eastern Europe.

Posted by