Please sign in to post.

Vienna - 1 day, 43 kids

I'm a teacher and experienced (but non-paid!) Europe travel organizer/director/guide (the only thing I don't do is drive and cook in Europe) with no experience in Vienna. Will be there for one full day with my grade 9 students in March 2010. What to do , what to avoid - suggestions? I've already read Rick's books of course. Just want some other perspectives.

Posted by
5678 posts

I think I would take them to the Treasury. There are some amazing things there with some quirky things as well. You do have to be willing to breeze past some things or you get quite overwhelmed. There is a very interesting music museum It's called the Vienna House of Music. It's very interactive and you can conduct an orchestra. http://europeforvisitors.com/switzaustria/articles/house_of_music_vienna.htm
When I first visited Vienna as a teenager I got to see a rehearsal of the Lipizzaner horses at the Spanish Riding School and it was one of the highlights of my trip. http://www.visitingvienna.com/sights/spanishridingschool/
Pam

Posted by
47 posts

I'm a history teacher - the trips I run are historical/cultural - the students have an interest in history and culture.

Posted by
881 posts

Hi, Craig. What type of group is it? History, language, religious, music, etc? Also, what day of the week will you be there?

I'd suggest taking them to either of the two palaces. You can book full outs with guides pretty easily online. The main palace has many things you can do, including the treasury.

Schonbrunn can give a nice long tour of the grounds (outside - a place for the kids to burn off some energy), and inside. There's also an easy underground connection from there to the Ring. (Opera House, Cathedral, etc, etc).

Give us a little more idea what you're looking for, and I'm sure we can help! :)

Posted by
186 posts