Please sign in to post.

train travel in switzerland

I am unfamiliar with train travel in Switzerland (or for that matter all of Europe as well) having always rented a vehicle. I bought and paid for my first class ticket from Zurich to Interlaken (changing at Lucerne) in advance so assume I will not have to validate it. What happens to my luggage (1 medium to large suitcase and one backpack)? Do I carry it on with me or do I have to check it as with airlines? If the latter what happens at Lucerne where I have to change trains? Is it switched to the new train automatically or do I have to claim it and recheck it on the second leg (There is 17 minutes between arrival and departure)?
Also how does the check in work. Do I cue in a line and someone scans my ticket as with boarding airlines? If so, how early does this line form. As I am new to this I would like to get there very early and hopefully board early as I am sure to make mistakes. Thanks for helping what is sure to be a lost soul at least at first.

Posted by
8440 posts

natureguides, no it is not like an airline. It is more like a city bus or the subway/metro/BART etc. No check in, no porters, no baggage check. You get on and off on your own carrying your own bags. Some time during the trip, a person will come down the aisle checking tickets. No big deal. You have 17 minutes to change trains. That's plenty. You need to be ready to disembark before the train arrives, with your bags ready. Find the track with your next train, and just get on. If there's a line, because someone is slow getting off, just go to another door and get on. You dont have to board the exact car you will be in, although you will see some marked with a 1 or a 2 to indicate class. Careful about boarding too early, With that much time, and all the trains going in and out, another train might be using the same track, so make sure you get on the one to destination (check numbers, ask, etc.). It will make more sense when you see it.

Posted by