Please sign in to post.

7 days in Switzerland for 1st time traveller

Hi. This is my first time traveling to Europe. I'll be traveling to Switzerland from Salzburg, Austria end of April. I will be staying for 7 days in Switzerland before flying back from Zurich. Ive done some research and there's a lot of nice places to visit. Switzerland is the place i wanted to visit so much and i have narrowed down to these few place :

1. Zurich
  2. Interlaken (surrounding mountain village)
  3. Lucerne
  4. Zermatt

5. Some people told me not to stay in Interlaken as it's a town and its a transit point and also too touristy. They suggested to stay at places like Grindelwald, Lauterbrunnen etc. But during this period (April/May) lots of attractions and cable car rides are closed. I'm not sure if it's advisable to stay at the mountain villages during this period?? Or should I stay in Interlaken and do day trips to those mountain vllages??

6. Since I'm coming from Salzburg, which should be my first stop?? I should be in Zurich as my last stop to catch my plane.

Thanks a lot

Posted by
19637 posts

Coming from Salzburg, you are going to get to Zurich first because that is where the Railjet train ends and all the connections to elsewhere in Switzerland (at least the ones you express interest in) begin. So you could do it then or later. It is only a 1 hour train ride to Luzern from Zurich.
Luzern to Interlaken is a short trip over a very beautiful mountain railway. Where you choose to stay is up to you. I gather you have already heard that late April and early May is not the most ideal time to visit the Swiss Alps. Sometimes opportunities don't present themselves at the most ideal times, but we just go ahead and do the best we can. If you want to go to the Jungfraujoch, you will need to keep an eye on the morning weather, and if it is clear, go immediately and hope you get there before the weather changes, which mountain weather does quite quickly.