Please sign in to post.

First time to Sweden; any safety advice? Travel ideas?

I am traveling to Sweden with a couple friends. I have travelled in Europe before to Italy, but this is my first time to Sweden. We have 16 days there. Can anyone share what their recent experience there was like? Anything to avoid? Lockdown issues? Mask rules? Just anything at all that would be helpful to know ahead of time for 1) safety 2) must see places 3) must eat foods
Are there any day trips that this group suggests?

Thank you!

Posted by
27063 posts

If there are indoor sights you want to see (such as museums), you should check the website of each one for special COVID-19 hours and procedures. You may find it necessary to pre-book entry times because of limited capacity.

If you look back through the Sweden forum you'll find a lot of threads discussing attractions in Stockholm especially, but also some covering other destinations.

What time of year will you be traveling? That will surely affect people's suggestions.

Posted by
6344 posts

I am traveling to Sweden with a couple friends. I have travelled in
Europe before to Italy, but this is my first time to Sweden.

Where are you travelling from? Due to the pandemic there is an entry ban for all non essential travel from outside the EU/EEA and couple of other countries.

Can anyone share what their recent experience there was like? Anything
to avoid?Lockdown issues? Mask rules? Just anything at all that would
be helpful to know ahead of time for 1) safety 2) must see places 3)
must eat foods

For current advice, see Folkhälsomyndigheten's (Public Health Agency) website: www.folkhalsomyndigheten.se There is no general mask rules but some companies (e.g. airlines) require them. Otherwise, keep 2m distance, wash your hands and don't use public transport during rush hour if you can avoid it. Regarding must see places, what are you interested in? Art?, Nature?, History? Anything else?