Please sign in to post.

Spain Honeymoon March 2022

Hi all,

My fiancée and I are getting married at a VRBO in Sant Vicenç de Montalt near Barcelona on March 15, 2022. However, we are a little stuck on what to do with the rest of our time after the wedding and how to get around without wasting time.

Here’s the itinerary:
March 12: Fly into Madrid, travel to Barcelona, sight-see a bit.
March 13: check out of hotel by 11am (? Whenever checkout usually is), wedding errands in Mataró, check in to VRBO after 5pm
March 14: Breakfast with family, free time, rehearsal dinner
March 15: Wedding!
March 16: Check out of VRBO at 10am
March 16-20: ??
March 21: Fly out of Madrid

We’re stuck on two things:
1. Where to spend the remainder of the time. Some considerations: we both love food and wine. Museums, churches, etc. are fine but not the focus. It’s March, so it may be warmer or cooler depending on the region. We have to be able to get back to Madrid. I studied abroad in Granada in 2014 and visited Sevilla and Cordoba on day-trips, but I would 100% go again; however, would it be as fun to see everything I saw before?
2. Getting around. We definitely have to rent a car for wedding errands. After that, should we keep the car? Try to find convenient Renfe timetables? A consideration with this too is luggage - are there weight limitations that would make trains and buses difficult to use? What about flying?

Also, we can do wedding errands either the 13th or 14th in case we want to see Barcelona more. It just feels more convenient on the 13th since we can’t check into the VRBO for a while. Plus, we can visit with our families on the 14th - it’s about a 30-40 min drive.

It’s a lot to consider, so any and all advice/suggestions are welcome and appreciated!!

Posted by
4326 posts