Please sign in to post.

Spain 5 weeks fall 2021

I have been on many RS tours, this is my first time posting to this site. Planning a 5 week trip to Spain, ( our daughter lives in Madrid). We have been there before. Our current itinerary: fly into ( and out of Madrid),
Madrid 6 nights
Granada 5 nights
Hill towns 7 nights
then the trip is fuzzy , our plans keep changing
along the coast 2 nights
Seville 3 nights
Salamanca 3nights
Santiago De C. 5 nights
then towards Basque region.. last in the Basque region fall 2019 for RS tour
back to Madrid.

planning on train from Madrid to Granada. renting a car thru the hill towns and coast. leave car in Seville.
then really looking for suggestions on travel for rest of trip.
thanks I look forward to responses. happy travels

Posted by
4326 posts

I'm lazy about math--could you tell us how many days exactly you have to work with?
Have you scoped out the transport for Sevilla-Salamanca-Santiago de C?
What month is the trip? There are currently rental car issues but those should be cleared up eventually.

Posted by
6510 posts

Not knowing what you plan to do in each place, my initial impression is you have too many nights scheduled for Granada, the hill towns, Salamanca, and Santiago de Compostela. To me, 2-3 full days in Granada in more than enough. I assume by hill towns you’re referring to the white towns between Ronda and Arcos de la Frontera. Unless you’re going to do some hiking 3 full days is enough. Salamanca is worth 2 full days at most, as is Santiago de Compostela unless you keep the rental car and take some day trips. To best explore the north coast (Galicia, Asturias, Cantabria, and País Vasco) one should really have a car.